Mudcat Café Message Lyrics & Knowledge Personal Pages Record Shop Auction Links Radio & Media Kids Membership Help
The Mudcat Cafeawe

User Name Thread Name Subject Posted
Thomas Stern Janis Joplin 1962 recording (1) Janis Joplin 1962 recording 14 Sep 21

The Janis Joplin website announces the forthcoming release
of a 1962 recording of The WALLER CREEK BOYS Featuring Janis Joplin.
November/December availability.

Below is description.


Expected ship date is November 10, 2021.

Raucous country music and blues, both traditional and original, with a gritty roadhouse sound and feel, recorded in 1962 at Threadgillís, the famous Austin beer joint and music venue. Youíll hear beer bottles hit the floor, doors slam, chatter by the band, including some choice expletives by Janis as she laughs and banters with Lanny and Powell throughout the recording. However, the music is not overwhelmed by the background, and the raw talent heard in Janisís clear, so-much-older-than-her-years vocals is unmistakable and undeniable, leaving little doubt about her greatness. Lannyís consistent and timely guitar playing and Powellís soulful harmonica work, coupled with the ever-present Janis vocals, offer a time capsule of a sound that would soon circle the globe.

The first authorized vinyl release by this legendary three piece group from Austin, Texas. Formed in 1962, the Waller Creek Boys consisted of Lanny Wiggins on acoustic guitar, Powell St. John, later of The Conqueroo, Mother Earth and songwriter for the 13th Floor Elevators, on harmonica, and a then-unknown 19-year old female singer, recently transplanted from Port Arthur, Texas who would go on to bigger things ó thatís right, Janis Joplin.

The album includes five songs that have never been released ó and the albumís remaining nine songs havenít been commercially released in almost fifty years. All the songs were re-mastered from the original 1962 tapes, which have been in Powell St. Johnís possession for almost sixty years.

Included is a 14-page booklet with first person anecdotes from individuals who were part of the bandís inner circle during those formative years in Austin.

Listen carefully to the very last words on this record to hear an example of the freewheeliní performance style of one of the greatest female blues singers that ever graced planet Earth.
Additional Details
Track List:
Side A:
1. Daddy, Daddy, Daddy (Janis Joplin) 3:13
2. Nobody Knows You When Youíre Down And Out (Jimmie Cox) 2:38
3. Banks of the Ohio (Powell St. John, Arr.) 4:27
4. Stealiní (Gus Cannon) 2:19
5. Wininí Boy Blues (Jelly Roll Morton) 2:19
6. Railroad Bill (Powell St. John, Arr.) 4:52
7. Iíll Drown In My Own Tears (Henry Glover) 1:42

Side B:
1. Kansas City Blues (Janis Joplin) 2:04
2. How Long (Powell St. John, Arr.) 3:47
3. No ReasonFor Liviní (Janis Joplin) 3:04
4. San Francisco Bay Blues (Jesse Fuller) 1:55
5. Silver Threads and Golden Needles (D. Reynolds / J. Rhodes) 2:52
6. Trouble in Mind (R. M. Jones) 3:01
7. St. James Infirmary (Trad.) 3:08
Customer Reviews

Post to this Thread -

Back to the Main Forum Page

By clicking on the User Name, you will requery the forum for that user. You will see everything that he or she has posted with that Mudcat name.

By clicking on the Thread Name, you will be sent to the Forum on that thread as if you selected it from the main Mudcat Forum page.

By clicking on the Subject, you will also go to the thread as if you selected it from the original Forum page, but also go directly to that particular message.

By clicking on the Date (Posted), you will dig out every message posted that day.

Try it all, you will see.