Mudcat Café Message Lyrics & Knowledge Personal Pages Record Shop Auction Links Radio & Media Kids Membership Help
The Mudcat Cafeawe

User Name Thread Name Subject Posted
Thomas Stern John Runge - need biographical information (21) RE: John Runge - need biographical information 27 Aug 17

Thanks Barry and Mike!
Mike - would like to know more about the film.....??? Would be
a treat if there is a filmed record of Runge performing.

discography correction - the RIVERSIDE, WASHINGTON releases:

RIVERSIDE RLP 12-814                12"-LP
A Concert of English Folk Songs
Sung by JOHN RUNGE accompanying himself on guitar
Edited and notes by Kenneth S. Goldstein
The Singer Views his Art by John Runge
[Riverside Specialty Series]

Folk Song Discography
Ed Cray
Western Folklore
Vol. 17, No. 2 (Apr., 1958), pp. 150-152
(article consists of 3 pages)

A1 Little Sir William
A2 Old Daddy Fox
A3 Poor Old Horse
A4 The Foggy Dew
A5 Turmut Hoein'
A6 The Lady and the Swine
A7 Joe, the Carrier Lad
A8 Sylvie
A9 The Three Crows
B1 The Mermaid
B2 The Water Is Wide
B3 Barley Mow
B4 I Will Give My Love an Apple
B5 Sucking Cider Through a Straw
B6 Geordie
B7 The Clucking Hen
B8 Soldier, Soldier
B9 Star, News, Standard

Riverside Wonderland 1424
VA: Folk Songs for Little Sailors
- The mermaid (John Runge)

Riverside Wonderland 1425                LP 1966
VA: Folk Songs From The Children's Zoo
A2 Old Daddy Fox (John Runge)
B4 Poor Old Horse (John Runge)
    The Three Crows (John Runge)

RIVERSIDE RLP 12-817             12"-LP NYC June, 1957
MAN IS FOR THE WOMAN MADE and other songs
                         from England's Golden Age

A1 Man is for the woman made /
    words by John Motteux ; music by Henry Purcell
A2 If music be the food of love /
    words by Colonel Heveningham ; music by Purcell
A3 When Laura smiles
A4 Follow thy fair sunne
A5 I care not for these ladies
A6 The cypress curtain of the night
A7 Never weather-beaten saile /
    words and music by Thomas Campian
B1 Fill me a bowl / words by John Oldham ; music by John Blow
B2 Greensleeves / anonymous
B3 Come again / words and music by John Dowland
B4 Willow song / anonymous
B5 Bryng us in good ale / anonymous
B6 Since I first saw your face / words and music by Thomas Ford
B7 Have you seene but a whyte lillie grow /
    words by Ben Jonson ; music, anonymous
[Billboard, Jan 6 1958]

WASHINGTON    VM 735       12"-LP
sung and played by JOHN RUNGE
Recorded in New York, June, 1957
Produced by Kenneth S. Goldstein
Program and biographical notes, in part by Kenneth S. Goldstein

A Elisabethan Songs
1 Man is for the woman made (John Motteux-Henry Purcell)
2 Come Again, Sweet Love Doth Invite (John Dowland)
3 Never weather-beaten saile (Thomas Campian)
4 I Care Not for These Ladies
5 Willow song (anonymous)
6 The Cypress Curtain of the Night
7 Fill me a bowl (John Oldham-John Blow)
8 Have you seene but a whyte lillie grow (Ben Jonson-anonymous)
B Folk Songs
1 Old Daddy Fox
2 Sylvie
3 The Foggy Dew
4 Turmut Hoein'
5 Poor Old Horse
6 Geordie
7 Joe, the Carrier Lad
8 I Will Give My Love an Apple
9 The Barley Mow
[Billboard, Feb 16 1963]

The WONDRELAND Lp's are compilation albums of assorted tracks
from the Riverside Folklore Series albums.

The WASHINGTON Lp is a compilation of material
from the two previous John Runge RIVERSIDE albums.
(Many Washington albums were straight reissues of a single previous
Riverside album. In this instance they selected cuts from
the two preious albums).


Post to this Thread -

Back to the Main Forum Page

By clicking on the User Name, you will requery the forum for that user. You will see everything that he or she has posted with that Mudcat name.

By clicking on the Thread Name, you will be sent to the Forum on that thread as if you selected it from the main Mudcat Forum page.

By clicking on the Subject, you will also go to the thread as if you selected it from the original Forum page, but also go directly to that particular message.

By clicking on the Date (Posted), you will dig out every message posted that day.

Try it all, you will see.