Mudcat Café Message Lyrics & Knowledge Personal Pages Record Shop Auction Links Radio & Media Kids Membership Help
The Mudcat Cafeawe

User Name Thread Name Subject Posted
black walnut Canadian Folk Music Awards (18) RE: Canadian Folk Music Awards 22 Nov 09

Scroll down for the list of winners:

(The following from Heather Kitching on Maplepost):

Joel Plaskett leads a big night for Maritimers at the Canadian Folk Music Awards

Joel Plaskett was the only multiple award winner at the fifth annual
Canadian Folk Music Awards ceremony tonight in Ottawa - leading what
turned out to be a banner night for Atlantic Canadians. Plaskett
earned the prizes for Contemporary Album of the Year and Producer of
the Year while fellow Haligonian Susan Crowe was named English
Songwriter of the Year and ukulele wizard James Hill – originally from
Langley, B.C. but now based in Brookfield, N.S. – won Traditional
Album of the Year for his collaboration with Anne Davison.
Charlottetown's Catherine MacLellan was named Solo Artist of the Year,
and fellow Islander Colette Cheverie won Traditional Singer of the

Quebec artists dominated the world music categories this year with
Montreal's Karim Saada earning the World Solo Artist of the Year award
and Quebec City's Mansa Sissoko sharing the world group prize with
Toronto banjo player Jayme Stone for their collection Africa to
Appalachia - which also won this year's world music Juno. Montreal
artist Catherine Durand was named French Songwriter of the Year.

Toronto's Sultans of String, who had been nominated for three awards,
received the trophy for Instrumental Group of the Year, while band
member Chris McKhool earned the Children's Album of the Year Award for
his solo project FiddleFire!

The Young Performer of the Year Award went to Vineland, Ontario's
Ariana Gillis.

British Columbia and the Prairies can each lay claim to two of this
year's CFMA winners. Saskatchewan's Deep Dark Woods were named
Ensemble of the Year, and Winnipeg's Don Amero earned the Aboriginal
Songwriter of the Year award. Meanwhile, Vancouver bluesman Jim
Byrnes received the prize for Contemporary Singer of the Year, while
his frequent collaborator Steve Dawson got the award for Pushing the

The Instrumental Solo Artist of the Year award went to Tony McManus,
Vocal Group of the Year went to Madison Violet, and New/Emerging
Artist of the Year was awarded to the Good Lovelies.

Tonight's ceremony took place at the Dominion Chalmers United Church
in Ottawa. It was hosted by the CBC's Shelagh Rogers and by Benoit
Bourque of the band La Bottine Souriante. The performers included Old
Man Luedecke, April Verch, Les Charbonniers de l'Enfer and songwriting
legend Valdy.

Founded in 2005, The Canadian Folk Music Awards recognize Canada's
outstanding writers, producers and performers of folk music, and the
artists who are expanding the genre in innovative and exciting ways.
While the Junos pay homage to Canada's pop music success stories, the
CFMAs celebrate the magnificent diversity of Canada's musical heritage
– from the musical traditions of Aboriginal Canada to Celtic, Acadian
and traditional Quebecois styles, singer-songwriter music, blues,
bluegrass and old-tyme country and the myriad of global traditions
brought to Canada by each new wave of immigration. What's more, the
CFMAs provide an opportunity to draw Canadians' attention to the depth
and breadth of folk music in Canada.

The CFMAs are judged by independent juries of industry experts who
remain at arms-length from the organizers. There is a different panel
for each category. Results are tabulated by an independent chartered

Traditional Album of the Year James Hill and Anne Davison – True Love
Don't Weep (Brookfield, N.S. / originally from Langley, B.C.)

Contemporary Album of the Year Joel Plaskett – Three (Halifax)

Children's Album of the Year Chris McKhool – FiddleFire! (Toronto /
originally from Ottawa)

Traditional Singer of the Year Colette Cheverie for Hours Before Dawn

Contemporary Singer of the Year Jim Byrnes for My Walking Stick (Vancouver)

Instrumental Solo Artist of the Year Tony McManus for The Maker's Mark
(Elora, ON)
Instrumental Group of the Year Sultans of String for Yalla Yalla! (Toronto)

Vocal Group of the Year Madison Violet for No Fool for Trying (Toronto)

Ensemble of the Year The Deep Dark Woods for Winter Hours (Saskatoon)

Solo Artist of the Year Catherine MacLellan for Water in the Ground

English Songwriter of the Year Susan Crowe for Greytown (Halifax)

French Songwriter of the Year Catherine Durand for Coeurs Migratoires (Montreal)

Aboriginal Songwriter of the Year Don Amero for Deepening (Winnipeg)

World Solo Artist of the Year Karim Saada for La Danse de l'Exilé
(L'Assomption, QC)

World Group of the Year Jayme Stone & Mansa Sissoko – Africa to
Appalachia (Toronto / Quebec City)

New. Emerging Artist of the Year The Good Lovelies – Good Lovelies (Toronto)

Producer of the Year Joel Plaskett – Three (Halifax)

Pushing the Boundaries Steve Dawson – Telescope (Vancouver)

Young Performer of the Year Ariana Gillis – Ariana Gillis (Vineland, ON)

Post to this Thread -

Back to the Main Forum Page

By clicking on the User Name, you will requery the forum for that user. You will see everything that he or she has posted with that Mudcat name.

By clicking on the Thread Name, you will be sent to the Forum on that thread as if you selected it from the main Mudcat Forum page.

By clicking on the Subject, you will also go to the thread as if you selected it from the original Forum page, but also go directly to that particular message.

By clicking on the Date (Posted), you will dig out every message posted that day.

Try it all, you will see.